Rep. Assembly report

April 6, 2011 / Comments (0)


The largest MEA-MFT Representative Assembly (RA) in history took place in Helena April 1-2.

More than 350 delegates attended, representing 97 MEA-MFT locals.


And what an RA it was – punctuated by MEA-MFT’s No Fooling with our Future Rally, which delegates attended April 1. They were joined by about 1,500 other Montanans concerned about the legislature’s needless budget cuts. Read more about the rally.


In other key RA events, delegates elected two statewide officers:


Vice President: Jeff Greenfield of Billings


Secretary-Treasurer: Jill Cohenour of Helena


(Eric Feaver continues as president and Karin Stanford as NEA Director)


Delegates also:

  • voted on several amendments to MEA-MFT’s constitution,
  • approved a new business item calling on MEA-MFT to organize plans to counter the current anti-union, anti- collective bargaining efforts seen in other states
  • approved a dues freeze
  • approved the proposed MEA-MFT budget

In addition, delegates heard a legislative report from President Feaver, heard from Governor Brian Schweitzer and Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau, and received a report from NEA Director Karin Stanford on national issues.


Members of the Year Celebration

The evening of April 1, delegates honored MEA-MFT’s three new Members of the Year in a gala celebration:


MEA-MFT Education Support Professional of the Year Janet Baum


MEA-MFT Public Employee Member of the Year Rich Aarstad


MEA-MFT Faculty Member of the Year Grant Mitman


Read more about the Members of the Year


Look for more RA reports and pictures soon.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *