Rep. Assembly delegates rededicate themselves to the cause

April 18, 2013 / Comments (0)


April 2013


From Libby to Wolf Point, East Glacier to Glasgow and all points in between, MEA-MFT members from across Montana came to Helena for the annual MEA-MFT Representative Assembly (RA) April 5 and 6.


Locally elected by their fellow MEA-MFT members, RA delegates, more than 300 of them, reconnected with old friends, made new ones, and set the direction for their union. RA is democracy in action. 


With constant references to the ongoing attacks on unions and public employees nationwide, delegates rededicated themselves to fight for workers’ rights, public education, public services, and Montana’s middle class.


Delegates heard from elected officials, including Governor Steve Bullock and Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau. They heard an update on MEA-MFT’s legislative agenda: “Pay Plan, Pensions, and Public Schools.” They went to the state capitol to talk to legislators about the state pay plan, protecting public employee pensions, and funding public education, preschool through grad school.


On the evening of April 5, delegates celebrated MEA-MFT’s Members of the Year: Michael Hoffman (Public Employee Member of the Year) Alex Schaeffer, Education Support Professional of the Year; and Marilyn Besich, Faculty Member of the Year.


Delegates also elected state officers, passed a budget, dues, and amendments to the MEA-MFT constitution, and new business items. 


See more RA photos & news here.


Read about Members of the Year here




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *