Eileen Sheehy recognized as one of nation’s top teachers

November 21, 2013 / Comments (0)



Eileen Sheehy


WASHINGTON, DC – MEA-MFT member Eileen Sheehy will be recognized as one of the nation’s top teachers in February.


Sheehy, an Advanced Placement Government and Politics and U.S. Government educator at Billings West High School, will receive the Horace Mann Award for Teaching Excellence and $10,000 at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Awards Gala to be held on Feb. 7, 2014 in Washington, DC.


The NEA Foundation Awards for Teaching Excellence are given annually at the Foundation’s black-tie event— known as the Academy Awards of public education— that attracts more than 800 national leaders from the public education, philanthropic, and business sectors.  The awards recognize, reward, and promote excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession. 


“Eileen has been selected for this award by her peers because she has attained the highest teaching standards, as shown by her exemplary instruction, advocacy for the profession, attention to diversity, leadership in professional development, and engagement of parents and community,” said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation. “Honoring these educators is our way of thanking them for their excellent work.”


Sheehy was nominated for the award by the MEA-MFT, the state’s National Education Association (NEA) affiliate.


“Eileen gets stuff done with her students that teachers everywhere should know about and practice,” said Eric Feaver, president of MEA-MFT. “Her key to effective teaching is developing a strong relationship with each student.”  Sheehy is Montana’s 2013 Montana Teacher of the Year.
 The four other finalists are:
• Kimberley Gilles, high school language arts educator in Danville, CA;
• Kathleen Sims,  early childhood special education & school readiness educator in Foley, MN;
• Brian Sites, high school social studies, math, and technology educator in Richland, WA;
• Christopher Stone, high school language arts, social studies, math, & science educator in Wallingford, CT.


“We are pleased to honor these five teachers with the Horace Mann Awards for Teaching Excellence,” said Marita Zuraitis, President and CEO of Horace Mann.  “These educators teach a variety of topics, each playing an instrumental role in making sure the children of tomorrow are well-educated. Horace Mann is proud to showcase the great work done by these educators.” 


In addition to the recognition, students and educators at the awardees’ school will receive digital arts training from the Pearson Foundation.  Video profiles of the awardees will be produced during the trainings and featured at the awards gala. 


The NEA Foundation and National Education Association jointly present the awards with support from NEA Member Benefits, the Horace Mann Companies, the Pearson Foundation, and California Casualty.


For the first time, this year, on Feb. 7, 2014, the NEA Foundation will live stream the event on its website, enabling students, peers, and families of the awardees to join in the celebration. 


The NEA Foundation
The NEA Foundation is a public charity supported by contributions from educators’ dues, corporate sponsors, and others who support public education initiatives. We support student success by helping public school educators work with key partners to build strong systems of shared responsibility. Visit www.neafoundation.org for more information.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *