9 Montana teachers chosen as math & science finalists

June 10, 2015 / Comments (0)


For more information contact:
Eric Feaver, MPTF Chair, 800.398.0826 or 406.442.4250
Marco Ferro, MPTF, 800.398.0826 or 406.447.1462



Nine Montana school teachers have been selected as the 2015 state finalists for the national prestigious Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the nation’s highest honor for U.S. mathematics and science teachers in grades kindergarten through 12.

A committee of Montana science and math teachers selected the nine teachers from a pool of 19 applicants statewide. The 2015 state award winners are:

Brooke Taylor, Billings Senior High School, Billings, MT
Jill Sanders, Riverside Middle School, Billings, MT
Kasey Ward, East Middle School, Great Falls, MT
Kerry Gruizenga, Skyview High School, Billings, MT
Michelle Brown, Great Falls High School, Great Falls

Janet Mader, Great Falls High School, Great Falls, MT
Jessica Anderson, Powell County High School, Deer Lodge, MT
Kimberly Popham, Belgrade High School, Belgrade, MT
David McDonald, Sidney High School, Sidney, MT

These state finalists completed a rigorous application process that incorporates video footage of classroom lessons along with substantial written documentation of impacts of their teaching methodology on student achievement.

The finalists’ applications were submitted to PAEMST, where a national panel of highly distinguished scientists and mathematicians will review submissions to determine who will qualify for this esteemed award.

Nationally, the awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House. In Montana, the state recognition program is sponsored and administered by the Montana Professional Teaching Foundation in association with the Montana Association of Presidential Awardees.

This fall, the 2015 state finalists will be honored at a national awards dinner.

For more information about the PAEMST program, please visit: www.paemst.org


The Montana Professional Teaching Foundation, a nonprofit foundation based in Helena, works to encourage and promote excellent teaching and learning in Montana. The foundation’s programs include:
• Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics & Science Teaching
• Montana Teacher of the Year Program
• Karen Cox Memorial Grant Program
• National Board Scholarships & Candidate Support
• Jim McGarvey Scholarship for Union Leadership in Public Education and Service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *